PTI wins 25 seats in AJK elections

Read Also | Selected Imran should refrain from commenting on Pakistan’s nuclear assets: Maryam Nawaz

Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) rose as the single-largest party after bagging at least 25 out of 45 seats in Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) elections – as per unofficial results on Monday.

PTI won in 25 constituencies followed by the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) in 10 constituencies and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz in six constituencies.

Unofficial results came out late on Sunday night from candidates and sources in the Election Commission.

The turnout was recorded at around 62pc.

Contesting for the 45 general seats, more than 700 candidates from 32 religions and political parties.

Read Also | Selected Imran should refrain from commenting on Pakistan’s nuclear assets: Maryam Nawaz

The All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference (AJK-MC) Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party and the (JKPP) managed to bag one seat each.

Out of the total of eight reserved seats, five are for women and three seats, one each for technocrats, religious scholars, and overseas Kashmiris.

Members for these seats are to be nominated after the elections.

Similarly, of the 45 general seats, 12 seats were reserved for Kashmiri refugees who migrated from the Indian Illegally Occupied Jammu and Kashmir (IIOJK) in 1947 and 1965 and have lived in various parts of Pakistan.

PTI’s regional chief Barrister Sultan Mahmood achieved his seventh success in the nine general elections held so far in LA-3, Mirpur-III.

Two by-elections – apart from these nine general elections – have also been held in this constituency and both were won by him. He could not win in the general elections of 1991 and 2016.

In the Muzaffarabad district, PPP’s regional president Latif Akbar Chaudhry got a comfortable victory from LA-30 (Muzaffarabad-IV) constituency. Mr Akbar, since 1985, has won six of the nine elections from this constituency.

PTI’s central joint secretary Khawaja Farooq Ahmed also emerged victorious in the Muzaffarabad city. He had a tough competition with the PML-N candidate and an independent candidate. His supporters set off firecrackers as a mark of celebration as a large digital screen outside his home announced his victory.

Read Previous

25 textile companies contribute 21pc to $25bn exports

Read Next

Four martyred in AJK as Army vehicle falls into ravine