PCB unveils central contract list for the next year

PCB unveils central contract list for the next year

Following governing board’s approval of the fiscal year (2021-22) budget, the Pakistan Cricket Board has revealed the much-awaited central contract list for 20 elite men cricketers.

PCB sees this as an enhanced and professional-based list, which includes a total of three juniors. As per media reports, match fee across all formats has been utilised.

PCB has promoted wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan and fast bowler Hassan Ali to category A following their stellar performances in the recent series.

The PCB has released all the details of the contracts after the Governing Board’s approval. The 12-month contracts will be in effect from July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022.

The list was given a formal nod by the panel that comprised Director International Cricket Zakir Khan, chief selector Muhammad Wasim and Director High-Performance Nadeem Khan.

PCB said that the Head Coach Misbah-ul-Haq and captain Babar Azam were also consulted as part of the process.

Read Also | Pakistan dismisses Indian allegations regarding drone attack on IIOJK

The provisional list was later shared with PCB Chief Executive Officer Wasim Khan prior to its approval by PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani.

PCB has downgraded former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed to Category C while Mohammad Hafeez has, once again, been ignored.

Rizwan has been given a reward for his consistent performances across all formats, with the PCB gave him the Category A contract.

Likewise, Fawad Alam, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, and Nauman Ali have also been offered central contracts as a result of their contributions and performances in the 2020-21 season.

Mohammad Hasnain and Haris Rauf, who were in the Emerging Category last year, have been pushed to Category C, while youngsters Shahnawaz Dahani, Imran Butt, and Usman Qadir have been set in Emerging Category.

Players who are missing out on the central contracts include Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Imad Wasim, Shan Masood and Usman Shinwari.

Read Previous

A goat with 5 thorns becomes the highlight of Karachi’s maweshi mandi

Read Next

Renowned playwright Asma Nabeel passes away