Whatsapp has listed the features which will be limited if users do not accept the new privacy policies even after persistent reminders
Keywords: Whatsapp, Social Media, Facebook, Policies, Digital security, Mark Zuckerberg, Chris Hughes,
With time, the limiting features could be, not being able to access their chat list, not being able to answer or dial video or voice calls. If pushed to the extreme, there is a chance that you will only be able to see the notifications without being able to send messages. So, while the users feel relieved to hear that the company will not delete their account, still, there is a lot to be worried about.
The FAQ page of Whatapp states, “For the last several weeks we’ve displayed a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update. After giving everyone time to review, we’re continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent.” The users who will still refuse to accept the terms won’t have their accounts deleted by the company but their service will limit. They will be allowed to download a report of their account and export their chat history before they move to another platform.
These policies are meant to secure the accounts and stop the spread of fake news which spirals into an uncalled panic. This new policy will have no implications on the privacy of user’s conversations and they will continue to remain end-to-end encrypted. Neither WhatsApp nor Facebook will be able to view the contents of messages or keep a tab of users contact lists.