TTP Talk Subject To Parliament’s Approval 

TTP Talk Subject To Parliament’s Approval 

Military Has Assured The Political Leadership That No Extra-Constitutional Concessions Will Be Made

The military has assured the political leadership that no extra-constitutional concessions will be made to the Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP), a terrorist organisation that has been outlawed, in the ongoing negotiations, and that any agreement reached with the group will require parliamentary approval. 

At a meeting with the political leaders on Wednesday at Prime Minister’s House, the military leadership provided the guarantee. 

Decision Will Be Made In Light Of The Pakistani Constitution

The decision will be made in light of the Pakistani Constitution with the permission of the parliament, the future direction presented, and the ensuing consensus, according to a statement released by the PM Office following the meeting. 

The military, which has been in talks with the proscribed TTP in Afghanistan with the assistance of the Afghan Taliban, and the national political leadership met for the first time to discuss this. It was set up in response to complaints by the Pakistan Peoples Party, a significant member of the government coalition, about not being included in the discussions. 

Conference Was Presided Over By Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif

The conference was presided over by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, and from the arrangement of the chairs, it appeared to be a National Security Committee (NSC) meeting. However, it was a “larger session” with the political leadership. 

Read Also | Rupee ends losing streak against US Dollar 

Read Also | Pakistan secures ‘lifeline’ IMF deal

Asif Ali Zardari, the leader of the PPP and former president, Ameer Haider Hoti, Mohsin Dawar, Khalid Magsi, the independent Balochistan MNA Aslam Bhootani, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, and Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah were among the prominent figures present at the meeting. The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf was not invited to the meeting despite having representation in the Senate and having resigned from the National Assembly. Mahmood Khan, the chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and a member of the PTI, was also left out. 

Federal Cabinets Were Present At The Meeting

Ayaz Sadiq, Rana Sanaullah, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Miftah Ismail, Asad Mehmood, and Israr Tareen were the federal cabinet members present at the meeting. 

Gen. Nadeem Raza, the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee, and the heads of the services were also present. 

At first, there were rumours that the Parliamentary Committee on National Security meeting would be where the TTP briefing would take place. By referring to the gathering as a “national security meeting,” the PMO statement hid its true purpose.

Read Previous

Had Never Thought Of Naming Next Army Chief: Imran Khan 

Read Next

Earthquake Wreaks Havoc In Afghanistan