PDM’s chief demands fresh election

PDM’s chief demands fresh election

On Monday, the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) Chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman demanded fresh elections in the country. He said the elections should be held immediately. 

In a statement, the JUI-F head said his party had its own stance and deemed it its responsibility to get a fresh mandate from the masses after returning the mandate of the people.

“If there are any lacunas in our electoral system then they should be addressed via reforms through incumbent assembly,” Fazlur Rehman said. He added, “JUI-F is not in favour of prolonging the current assembly’s tenure.”

Meanwhile, JUI-F Senator Kamran Murtaza said his party would not become part of the federal cabinet. “We support the government but won’t be joining the cabinet,” he said. He added that the JUI-F would be sitting in the opposition and supporting the government.

It is pertinent to state that Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) also stands divided over joining the new cabinet even after the passage of six days to the new government’s formation.

Read Also | Rambo’s wife under fire for misogynist comments

Sources privy to the matter said that former president Asif Ali Zardari was against joining the federal cabinet, while Bilawal Bhutto Zardari expressed willingness to join the cabinet.

They said the PPP was more interested in holding constitutional positions instead of the ministries in the federal cabinet, while PML-N had not yet decided in this context.

The PPP asked for constitutional positions, including governorships in four provinces, and demanded three important ministries in the federal cabinet.

Senate chairman Sadiq Sanjrani presided over the oath-taking ceremony of the members of PM Shehbaz Sharif’s 37-member cabinet after President Alvi was said to have greenlighted the nominations.

Sanjrani delivered the oath to Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Sanaullah, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Miftah Ismail, Khurram Dastgir Khan, Mian Javed Latif, Murtaza Javed Abbasi, Azam Nazir, Syed Khurshid Shah, Syed Naveed Qamar, Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Sherry Rehman, Shazia Marri, Syed Murtaza Mahmood, Abdul Qadir Patel, Ehsan-ur-Rehman Mazari, Sajid Hussain Turi, Abid Hussain, Abdul Wasay, Asad Mahmood, and Mufti Abdul Shakoor.

Read Previous

Rambo’s wife under fire for misogynist comments

Read Next

Who paid Imran Khan’s flight expenses?