Breaking News :

Nausheen Shah hits back at trolls on Instagram

Current account deficit to remain between 2-3pc in FY22: SBP

Sharif met Mohib to protect Pakistan’s national interest: Abbasi

Pakistan, Saudi Arabia agree to further economic cooperation

Noor asked me to bring Rs700,000 to Zahir’s house: driver

China, Pakistan agree to boost cooperation under CPEC

Pak, Saudi Arabia agree to further bilateral ties

PML-N, PPP reject AJK results

Pakistan ranks top 10 in business environment: Chinese report

PPP bags Sindh-Balochistan seat of AJK assembly

Four martyred in AJK as Army vehicle falls into ravine

PTI wins 25 seats in AJK elections

25 textile companies contribute 21pc to $25bn exports

Gandapur’s misogynist remarks against Maryam draw public ire

I am definitely the candidate to replace PM Khan: Mehwish Hayat

Govt welcomes UK move against corrupt elements

Tajik forces declare readiness to counter any uncertain scenario on Afghan border

Qureshi set to embark on China visit today

Cargo ship stranded at Karachi’s Seaview for second day

Video of a bull getting out of control and shot goes viral

A must-try recipe for this Bakrid

WhatsApp introduces joinable calls feature

Delta variant on a roll in Karachi

Security of Chinese nationals improved after Dasu incident

Zalmay holds talks with Army Chief, PM

Cryptocurrency advocates want Pakistan to align itself with modern times

Saudi Arabia allows shops to remain open during prayers

Behroze Sabzwari speaks on his son’s separation with Syra Yousuf

RSS ideology main hurdle in Indo-Pak peace: PM Khan

Uninstall these apps if you want to use WhatsApp

Pakistan, Uzbekistan set to produce a film together

Mahira Khan says she is not even engaged

Disappointed at allegations from Afghanistan: PM Khan

Chaman border closed after Taliban get close

Pakistan for Afghan-owned solution in Afghanistan: Qureshi

Some updates about the upcoming iPhone 13

Sherry says Pakistan doesn’t criminalise violence

Will EVMs be effective in Pakistan?

Cuba proposes to establish a vaccine plant in Pakistan

Ban on TLP to be maintained: Fawad Chaudhary

Twitter lashes out at Pakistani team as they suffer a 3-0 whitewash

Maryam Nawaz’s blunder lands her into hot waters yet again

Taliban destroy two helicopters of the Afghan forces

Naegleria claims 4th life in Karachi

PM Khan reiterates support to Kashmiri struggle for freedom

Monsoon season begins in Pakistan

Khalilzad embarks on diplomacy tour of Qatar, Uzbekistan and Pakistan

Bushra Ansari proves again that age is just a number

No taxes on imports for exports sector from Aug 14: FBR

Faysal Quraishi recreates his viral ‘jaahil log’ video

Pakistan welcomes Iran’s role in Afghan peace process

WhatsApp may finally allow you to select quality for sending visual content

Beware! 22 brands of water declared unsafe for human consumption

PM warns nation of Covid-19’s Indian variant

Shahroz says he always saw a life partner in Sadaf

Biden vows to stand by Afghan security forces

Pakistan to see electric cars in this month

China assures to stand behind Pakistan regardless of world politics

Pak vs Eng: Haris Sohail ruled out of ODI series

Spotify vs Apple Music vs Sound Cloud: 12 best music streaming services in 2021

$1b Eurobonds floated at 8.5% interest rate

Man accused of assaulting young couple arrested in Islamabad

Legendary Bollywood actor Dilip Kumar passes away

Karachi matric board chairperson explains details behind controversy

How to know if you have been blocked by someone on Whatsapp?

India clearly behind Lahore blast: Sheikh Rashid

State keen to talk to Baloch insurgents: Chaudhary

People unhappy with scantily clad women at Hum Style Awards

Minal’s fans are worried after her hospital pictures go viral

Why you should refrain from investing in crypto

Selected Imran should refrain from commenting on Pakistan’s nuclear assets: Maryam Nawaz

Khalil-ur-Rehman Qamar sides with PM Khan over his statements on rape

UAE-Pakistan friendly ties continue to foster growth, development

Pakistan kept in FATF’s grey list despite implementing 26 out of 27 action plans

Pakistan kept in FATF’s grey list despite implementing 26 out of 27 action plans

Pakistan, despite implementing 26 out of 27 action plans, has been retained in the grey list by the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) – a decision announced early Friday evening.

Even though Pakistan was hopeful of finally making it into the white list, the global financial watchdog placed six new demand points after finding out deficiencies in Mutual Evaluation Report (MER).

Now Islamabad is bound to comply with these plans simultaneously to come out from the grey list.

Marcus Pleyer, the FATF president, said in his press conference on Friday that “Pakistan will be de-listed from the grey list on implementing action plans and accomplishing on-site visits”.

Read Also | Owner of vehicle used in Lahore blast arrested from Karachi-bound flight

Federal Minister for Energy Hammad Azhar, evaluating the decision in a press conference on Friday, said that the latest seven items on the money laundering action plan handed over to Pakistan after the recent session of the FATF would be completed in 12 months.

Azhar said the new action plan was “less difficult” to implement as Pakistan was being considered a low-risk territory for money laundering in comparison to other countries.

Experts, however, termed the decision unfair and said that it was difficult for Pakistan to undertake two different processes simultaneously. Pakistan will have to implement points related to the investigation and prosecution of those implicated in terror financing and the other six key points.

The Minister for Energy presented the situation in bright light by saying, “We have set a target to achieve the second seven-point action plan in 12 months, even though normally countries take two years.”

The latest action items are the most significant among all in the view of the member countries including India and the US.

These countries have been demanding through the FATF forum that Pakistan should hit eight groups – the Afghan Taliban, Haqqani Network, Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), Jamaat-ud-Dawa (JuD), Falah-e-Insaniyat Foundation, Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT), al-Qaeda and Islamic State.

Read Previous

More of what you need to know about Windows 11

Read Next

Saboor Aly gets candid about her engagement with Ali Ansari

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x