New Chief Justice of Pakistan makes big changes on his first day

new chief justice of pakistan makes big changes on his first day

new chief justice of pakistan makes big changes on his first day

Justice Qazi Faez Isa took charge as the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Pakistan and as Monday (today) marked his first day and the first day in office marked big changes for the top court as well as the country.

Even his swearing in ceremony, held on Sunday at the Presidency, was a departure from the norm as he was accompanied by his side as he read the oath to become the 29th Chief Justice of Pakistan. The oath was administered by the President, Arif Alvi, who had filed a reference against him in a bid for his removal from the Supreme Court. 

The ceremony was attended by caretaker Prime Minister Anwaarul Haq Kakar, caretaker Sindh Chief Minister justice (r) Maqbool Baqar, Chief of Army Staff Gen Asim Munir, Inter-Services Intelligence Director General Lt Gen Nadeem Anjum, judges, senators and ambassadors.

After his appointment, CJ Isa made history by appointing the first ever female registrar of the Supreme Court. More precedents were set on his first day (Monday) as live proceedings were broadcasted of the full court hearing of petitions challenging the Supreme Court (Practice and Procedure) Act 2023. The law seeks to regulate powers of the SC CJ, chief among them is the suo moto powers and the formation of benches on constitutional matters.

Read More: Six former PMs of Pakistan to get cases reopened after SC verdict

The live broadcast was aired on the government-owned PTV live, while the decision to broadcast the hearing of the all 15-member bench of the Supreme Court was taken in a full-court meeting. A total of 10 cameras were installed for the purpose of broadcasting the proceedings. 

Read More: Shahbaz Sharif says Nawaz Sharif will return to Pakistan on Oct 21

The 15-member bench consists of Justice Sardar Tariq Masood, Justice Ijazul Ahsan, Justice Syed Mansoor Ali Shah, Justice Munib Akhtar, Justice Yahya Afridi, Justice Aminuddin Khan, Justice Sayyed Mazahar Ali Akbar Naqvi, Justice Jamal Khan Mandokhel, Justice Muhammad Ali Mazhar, Justice Ayesha A. Malik, Justice Athar Minallah, Justice Syed Hasan Azhar Rizvi, Justice Shahid Waheed, Justice Musarrat Hilali and headed by CJ Qazi Faez Isa.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Arrival of 5G in Pakistan could take more time than expected

Read Next

G77+China seeks new world order for economic prosperity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *