ICC World Cup 2024 final schedule

ICC World Cup 2024 final schedule

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed the dates for the upcoming T20 World Cup, scheduled from June 4 to 30. The tournament will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and America, with ten venues shortlisted in both regions.

The selected locations for the matches include Florida, Dallas, New York, and Morrisville in America. However, these cities lack international cricket venue status, which is essential according to ICC rules.

Read more | Pakistan beats India for Asia Cup

To address this, the ICC will collaborate with the US and West Indies cricket boards to finalize the venues.

The 2024 World Cup will feature 20 teams, playing in a different format from the previous edition.

During the initial round, the teams will be divided into four groups of five, and the top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 round, where they will be split into two groups.

Eight Men’s Global Event

Sources also mentioned that the top two teams from the Super 8 stage will qualify for the semi-finals. This T20 World Cup will be the first of eight men’s global events in the ICC’s commercial cycle from 2024 to 2031.

Read more | ICC’s new financial model

The decision to have the USA as a co-host was strategic, driven by the ICC’s recognition of the North American market’s potential for cricket’s growth and their aspiration to include cricket in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympic Games (LA28).

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Attack on PPP’s leader house

Read Next

PTI Chief’s arrest warrant suspended

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *