PCB moves Zimbabwe series to Rawalpindi and Karachi

PCB moves Zimbabwe series to Rawalpindi and Karachi

PCB moves Zimbabwe series to Rawalpindi and Karachi

This rescheduling due to the potential impact of weather conditions impacts on the three T20Is between Pakistan and Zimbabwe, and the remaining four HBL Pakistan Super League 2020 fixtures, which will now be held in Rawalpindi and Karachi, respectively, on the dates announced earlier, the official notification added.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), taking into consideration the health and wellbeing of professional athletes and match officials due to the recent deterioration in the air quality caused by an early onset of intense air pollution in Lahore, decided to relocate scheduled matches at the cricket headquarters to Rawalpindi and Karachi, a press release showed.

“We have been keeping a close eye on air quality forecasts over the last two weeks. Following the sudden deterioration in air quality and now further expected air pollution in November, we have made a swift decision to move the matches scheduled in Lahore,” said PCB’s Wasim Khan.

The early onset of hazardous pollution and subsequent poor air quality meant that the risk to keep matches in Lahore at this stage was too great.  An early decision was made to ensure logistical challenges could be dealt with sooner rather than later. We cannot and will not compromise on the health and wellbeing of the players or officials, he added further.

He said that Pakistan is grateful to Zimbabwe Cricket, the franchise owners, broadcast partners, and our valued commercial partners for their understanding in supporting our decision while thanking the federal and provincial governments, as well as law enforcement agencies for their understanding and continued support.

The revised schedule for the Pakistan v Zimbabwe is as follows: Saturday, 7 Nov – 1st T20, Rawalpindi; Sunday, 8 Nov, 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi and the final match on Tuesday, 10 Nov – 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

All of the remaining four PSL matches will be held in Karachi. Starting from Saturday, November 14 – Qualifier between Multan Sultans and Karachi Kings, followed by eliminator 1 between Lahore Qalandars v Peshawar Zalmi, Eliminator 2 between loser Qualifier v winner Eliminator 1.

The final match will be held on Tuesday, November 17.

Read Previous

Pakistani version of Netflix to be launched soon

Read Next

PM Khan asks Facebook to remove Islamophobic content